Team Germano Scarpa wins 2017 Members’ Championship

Porto Cervo, 6th August 2017. Accompanied by a Mistral wind gusting at over 20 knots which would then settle to 15 knots, the teams contesting the 2017 YCCS Members’ Championship set off this morning toward Poltu Quatu and the finish line of the first leg of the event. After completing the first reaching half of the race and having enjoyed a break for lunch, crews took to the water once again; headed this time for the final finish line off Porto Cervo. The combined results from both legs saw Germano Scarpa’s team, composed of Gabriella Tavasani, Allegra Carlotta Scarpa and Federico Buscaglia, claim the title of Members’ Champion in this special 50th anniversary year for the Club.

Second place went to the team skippered by Stefano Lelli (with Franco Pistone, Mia Milillo, Julio Ayllon), while Marietta Strasoldo’s crew with Riccardo Genghini, Monica Piras and Giorgio Caprini on board took third place overall.

Proceedings drew to a close with the traditional prize-giving ceremony at the YCCS Clubhouse. In addition to the YCCS trophies awarded to the winners, Official Technical Partner of the event - Garmin Marine - also awarded the winner a portable satellite communications device providing 100% Iridium and GPS coverage which enables text messaging in the absence of network coverage.

For further information, full results and photos, visit